Playlist The Boudin Barndance – 08/27/20

The Boudin Barndance: 08/27/20
Dan Ferguson
WRIU-FM, 90.3 Kingston, RI
Thursdays 6-9 pm
On the web at:
Boudin Barndance playlists and album reviews now archived at

Roots Hoot House Concerts:
Upcoming shows are:
Sept 13 – Otis Gibbs –> POSTPONED until spring (we hope)

Because of the COVID crap and the inability to get into our studio to do live broadcasts, since early April The Boudin Barndance has become a “homemade” program that I’ve been pre-recording sometime in the week before the actual air date depending on my my schedule. Unfortunately, this week’s Barndance was made and recorded a day before hearing of the passing of Justin Townes Earle who was a Barndance favorite and I just did not have time to make appropriate changes to pay tribute. Maybe it was some subliminal thing, but I had already (unknowingly) included a JTE song in this week’s playlist. We will give Justin a proper Barndance salute and sendoff on our September 3 edition of the program. As for this evening’s show, it was out typical mixed bag of goodies with quite a few records making their Barndance debut tonight. These included new albums from Sam Rae (cello player from Brandi Carlile’s band), Dirk Powell, Ethan Daniel Davidson, Emma Swift, Molly Tuttle, legendary Brit folkie Shirley Collins, Kathleen Edwards, Ted Russell Kamp, Arlo McKinley, and Jerry Joseph. Big thumbs up on the latter two. Buttshaker of the week???? From Bed-Stuy, Bette Smith with a new single called “I Felt It, Too.” Now let’s all grab a cold one, or three, and get to the goods….

Buck Owens, et al – Buckaroo / Box Set / Rhino (intro)

Courtney Marie Andrews – Break the Spell / Old Flowers (Fat Possum, 2020)
Sam Rae – Waukee / Ten Thousand Years (2020)
Dirk Powell – Everything is Alright / When I Wait for You (Compass, 2020)
Ethan Daniel Davidson – Come Down Lonesome On e/ Come Down Lonesome (Seedsman, 2020)
Emma Swift – You’re a Big Girl Now / Blonde on the Tracks (Tiny Heist, 2020)
The Delines – The Oil Rigs at Night / Colfaz (El Cortez)
Molly Tuttle – Olympia, WA / But I’d Rather Be With You (Compass, 2020)

Zephaniah OHora – All American Singer / Listening to the Music (Last Roundup, 2020)
Merle Haggard – California Cottonfields / The Bakersfield Sound (Bear Family, 2019)
Dale Watson – The Bottle Never Let Me Down / Bloodshot 6-Pack to Go (Bloodshot)
The Bottle Rockets – Indianapolis / Brooklyn Side Reissue (Bloodshot)
Jerry Reed – Lord Mr Ford / Essential (RCA)
Wayne Hancock – Gonna Be Flyin’ Tonight / Man of the Road (Bloodshot, 2019)
Justin Townes Earle – Black- Eyed Susie / Midnight at the Movies (Bloodshot)
Lydia Loveless – Real / Real (Bloodshot)

Bud Isaacs – Cowboy Conga / Bud’s Bounce (Bear Family)
Kitty Wells – What About You / The Queen of Country Music (Bear Family)
Ray Price – Heart Over Mind / & The Cherokee Cowboys (Bear Family)
Ernest Tubb – I Need Attention Bad / Let’s Say Goodbye Like We Said Hello (Bear Family)
Jimmie Heap & Melody Masters – I Told You So / Release Me (Bear Family)
Kitty Wells – Cheated Out of Love / The Queen of Country Music (Bear Family)
Stanley Brothers – I Love No One But You / Complete Columbia Recordings (Legacy)
JD Crowe & New South – Come Back Sweetheart / Come On Down to My World (Rounder)
Jimmie Heap & Melody Masters – Butternut / Release Me (Bear Family)
Intermission backdrop:
Bud Isaacs – Bud’s Bounce (Bear Family)
Shirley Collins – Rolling in the Dew / Heart’s Ease (Domino, 2020)
Robert Vincent – Cuckoo / In This Town You’re Owned (TT, 2020)
Paul Burch – The Tell / Light Sensitive (Plowboy, 2020)
Nora O’Connor – Okay With Me / Til the Dawn (Bloodshot)
Puss N Boots – The Razor Song / Sister (Blue Note, 2020)
Kathleen Edwards – Hard On Everyone / Total Freedom (Dualtone, 2020)
Rudy D’Anda – The Mirror / Tender Epoch (Karma Chief, 2020)

Ted Russell Kamp – Home Sweet Hollywood / Down in the Den (2020)
Charley Crockett – Paint It Blue / Welcome to Hard Times (Son of Davy/TT, 2020)
The Texas Gentlemen – Skyway Streetcar / Floor It! (New West, 2020)
Arlo McKinley – Die Midwestern / Die Midwestern (Oh Boy/TT, 2020)
Jerry Joseph – San Acacia / The Beautiful Madness (Cosmic Sex School, 2020)
Mike Polizze – Do Do Do / Long Lost Solace Find (Paradise of Bachelors, 2020)

Bette Smith – I Felt It, Too / The Good, The Bad ,& the Bette (Ruf, 2020)
Don & Dewey – Farmer John / Jungle Hop (Specialty)
Doc & Sal – Cry & Wonder Why / Eccentric Soul: The Dynamic Label (Numero)
Joe King – Speak On Up / Eccentric Soul: The Pixie Label (Numero)
South Shore Commission – Shadows / Eccentric Soul: The Nickel & Penny Labels (Numero)
Otis Redding – Mr Pitiful / Complete Stax/Volt Singles (Stax)
Booker T & The MGs – Every Bit of My Heart / Soul Men (Stax)

Burton & Mooney – Corn Pickin’ / Legends of Country Guitar / Rhino (outro)

Comments welcome.

Boudin Dan